Indian Nobel Prize Winners List PDF For Competitive Exam

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List
Indian Nobel Prize Winners List

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List

Abhijit Banerjee, an Indian-born American Economist made it to the List of Indian Nobel Laureates on 15th October 2019 for his outstanding contribution in the field of Economic Sciences. He shared the Nobel Prize with Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for initiating an experiment in order to alleviate Global Poverty.

Nobel prize is a set of international awards presented to people for outstanding contributions in the field of cultural, academic, and scientific advances.

This topic is useful for Competitive Exams. Aspirants can use this article for better preparation.

These sets of awards are presented by the Swedish and Norweigan institutions. Nobel Prize was first awarded in 1901.

The various fields of recognition are:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Literature
  • Peace
  • Economic Sciences

The set of communities associated with the awards presentation are:

  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Physiology or Medicine)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace)
  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Physics)
  • Swedish Academy (Literature)

List of Indian Nobel Prize Winners

The list of Indian Nobel Laureates is given below:

Indian Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYear
Rabindranath TagoreLiterature1913
C. V RamanPhysics1930
Mother TeresaPeace1979
Amartya SenEconomic Sciences1998
Kailash SatyarthiPeace2014

Born in India but different Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYearNationality
Har Gobind KhoranaPhysiology/Medicine1968United States
Subrahmanyam ChandrasekharPhysics1983United States
Venkatraman RamakrishnanChemistry2009United KingdomUnited States
Abhijit BanerjeeEconomic Sciences2019United States

Indian Residents at the time of being awarded & Non-Indian Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYearNationality
Ronald RossPhysiology/Medicine1902United Kingdom
Rudyard KiplingLiterature1907United Kingdom
Tenzing Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama)Peace2009Tibet

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List PDF

India’s Most Affordable Premium Practice Sets Check Here

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List PDF For Competitive Exam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here