List of Miss Universe Winners (1952 to 2023) by Country


List of Miss Universe Winners: Miss Universe is an annual international beauty pageant organized by the organization. Miss Universe 2022 was the 71st Miss Universe pageant held on January 14, 2023, at the New Orleans Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. India’s Harnaaz Sandhu crowned R’Bonnie Gabriel of the United States as Miss Universe 2022. It was the United States’ first victory in 10 years, and the nation’s ninth – the most by any country in the contest’s history.

Also Check: Static GK PDF 2023 Complete List For All Competitive Exams

History of Miss Universe:

The Miss Universe pageant was established in 1952 by Pacific Mills, a California-based textile company. The first Miss Universe pageant was held in Long Beach, California in 1952. Finland’s Armi Kusela won the first Cosmos Beauty title. CBS From 1960, started broadcasting Cosmology Sundari and American Sundari jointly. The competition became part of Kaiser-Roth and later the Gulf and Western Industries. CBS since 1965 (CBS TV Network) began airing separately. It was acquired by Donald Trump in the year 1996. In 2003, NBC bought the television rights to the contest.

Miss Universe 2021 The three beauties who made it to the finals were Miss Dominican Republic, Andrea Martinez, Miss USA R’Bonnie Gabriel and Miss Venezuela Amanda Dudamel. Andreína Martíne was declared the second runner up while Miss Venezuela won the first runner up title.

List of all Miss Universe winners from 1952 to till now:

2022R’Bonnie GabrielUSA
2021Harnaaz Kaur SandhuIndia
2020Andrea MezaMexico
2019Zozibini tunziSouth Africa
2018Caitriona Elisa GrayPhilippines
2017Demi-Lay Nel-PetersSouth Africa
2016Iris MittenaereFrance
2015Pia WurtzbachPhilippines
2014Polina VegaColombia
2013Gabriella IsleVenezuela
2012Olivia CulpoUnited States of America
2011Leila LopezAngola
2010Jimena NavarettiMexico
2009Stefania FernandesVenezuela
2008Diana MendozaVenezuela
2007Rio MoriJapan
2006Juleca RiveraPuerto Rico
2005Natalie GlebovaCanada
2004Jennifer HawkinsAustralia
2003Emilia VegaDominican Republic
2002Oksana FedorovaRussia
2001Denise M. QuinonesPuerto Rico
2000Lara DuttaIndia
1999Mapule QiblagobBotswana
1998Weddy FitzwilliamTrinidad & Tobago
1997Brooke LeeUnited States of America
1996Alicia MekadoVenezuela
1995Chelsea SmithUnited States of America
1994Sushmita SenIndia
1993Deynara TorresPuerto Rico
1992Michelle McLeanNamibia
1991Lupita JonesMexico
1990Mona GrudNorwegian
1989Enzadeja VisserNetherlands
1988Porntik Nakheeroon KunokThailand
1987Cecilla BoloccoChile
1986Barbara Palacio TedeVenezuela
1985Debro Carthy DewPuerto Rico
1984Yvonne RidingSweden
1983Lorraine DownsNew Zealand
1982Karen Dion BaldwinCanada
1981Irene SaysVenezuela
1980Sean WeatherlyUnited States of America
1979Marry SayleroVenezuela
1978Margaret GardinerSouth Africa
1977Janelle CommissioningTrinidad & Tobago
1976Reena MessengerIsrael
1975Anne Marie PotamoFinland
1974Emparo MoonsSpain
1973Margarita MoranPhilippines
1972Kerry Annie WellsAustralia
1971Georgina RizzkLebanon
1970Marisol MalretPuerto Rico
1969Gloria DiazPhilippines
1968Martha VasconcelosBrazil
1967Sylvia HitchcockUnited States of America
1966Margareta AvitsonSweden
1965Apars HongskulaThailand
1964Corina SapGreece
1963Adia Maria VagasBrazil
1962Norma NolanArgentina
1961Marlene SchmidtGermany
1960Linda BementUnited States of America
1959Akiko KojimaJapan
1958Luz Marina ZulugColombia
1957Gladys GenderPeru
1956Carol MorrisUnited States of America
1955Hillevy RombineSweden
1954Miriam StevensonUnited States of America
1953Christiane MartelFrance
1952Army KuselaFinland

Miss Universe Winners from India

Here is the list of the Miss Universe from India. There have been three Miss Universe from India so far- Sushmita Sen, Lara Dutta, and Harnaaz Sandhu. You will find a detailed profile of these vivacious and beautiful ladies who have won the Miss Universe Crown from India.

Miss Universe from India – Sushmita Sen

She is the first Miss Universe Winner from India. Sushmita Sen created history in 1994 at the age of 18 years when she has crowned the Miss Universe Winners from India. She was born on 19th November 1975 into a Bengali family in Hyderabad. She participated in the Femina Miss India Beauty Pageant at the age of 18 years in 1994 and emerged as the winner of the competition.

After winning the Miss Universe Contest she pursued a successful career in the Indian Film Industry where she won many accolades for films like Biwi No.1, Filhaal, Samay: When Time Strikes, Main Hoon Na, and so on. She made her debut on the OTT platform with the Series Aarya in 2020.

She initiated the project  I Am She – Miss Universe India in 2010 and the winner of the contest would earn their position to represent India in the Miss Universe contest.

Miss Universe from India – Lara Dutta

Born on 16th April 1978, Lara Dutta Became the second Indian to win the Miss Universe Title in 2000. Prior to that, she had won the Miss Intercontinental in 1997 and the annual Gladrags Mega model India competition in 1995.

She made her debut in the Indian Film Industry with the Movie Andaaz alongside Priyanka Chopra, who won the Miss World Title the same year as her. She won Filmfare Award for Best Female Debut and many other accolades throughout her career.

Miss Universe from India – Harnaaz Sandhu

Hailing from Punjab and she won the Miss Universe Title in 2021 making her the current Miss Universe Crowned as well. Prior to Miss Universe Content, she participated in other beauty pageants and won a few of them.

Some of the Beauty Pageants, Sandhu has won are Femina Miss India Punjab 2019 and Miss Diva Universe 2021. She has also worked in Punjabi Film Industry in movies like “Yaara Diyan Poo Baran” and “Bai Ji Kuttange” winning her many praises and fans.

List of Miss Universe Winners from India

Here is the List of Miss Universe Winners from India. You will find the name of the winners along with the year they won the Miss Universe Crown.

Miss Universe Winners From IndiaYear
Sushmita Sen1994
Lara Datta2000
Harnaaz Kaur Sandhu2021

Miss Universe Winners List: FAQs

Q: Who is the current Miss Universe Titleholder?

A: The current Miss Universe is from India. The 22-year Harnaaz Sandhu won the Miss Universe Crown on 13 December 2021.

Q: Who was the first Miss Universe from India? 

A: Sushmita Sen was the first Miss Universe from India.

Who is the Miss Universe 2022?

A: R’Bonney Gabriel Of USA Was Crowned The 71st Miss Universe On 14 January 2023.

Who was the first Miss Universe?

A: Armi Kuusela From Finland Was The First Miss Universe. She Won The Title In 1952. Also, She Won The Finnish National Beauty Contest Suomen Neito In 1952.

List of Miss Universe Winners (1952 to 2023) by Country


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here