

## **RBI Governors List From 1935 to 2023**

## RBI Governors List From 1935 to 2023

Below we are providing you with a table containing the list of all the RBI Governors of India so far –

S. No.	Name of Governor	Tenure
1	Sir Osborne Smith	April 1, 1935 – June 30, 1937
2	Sir James Braid Taylor	July 1, 1937 – February 17, 1943
3	Sir C.D. Deshmukh	August 11, 1943 – June 30, 1949
4	Sir Bengal Rama Rau	July 1, 1949 – January 14, 1957
5	K.G. Ambegaonkar	January 14, 1957 – February 28, 1957
6	H.V.R Lyengar	March 1, 1957 – February 28, 1962
7	P.C Bhattacharya	March 1, 1962 – June 30, 1967
8	L.K. Jha	July 1, 1967 – May 3, 1970
9	B.N. Adarkar	May 4, 1970 – June 15, 1970
10	S. Jagannathan	June 16, 1970 – May 19, 1975
11	N.C. Sen Gupta	May 19, 1975 – August 19, 1975
12	K.R. Puri	August 20, 1975 – May 2, 1977
13	M. Narasimham	May 3, 1977 – November 30, 1977
14	I.G. Patel	December 1, 1977 – September 15, 1982
15	Manmohan Singh	September 16, 1982 – January 14, 1985
16	Amitav Gosh	January 15, 1985 – September 4, 1985
17	R.N. Malhotra	February 4, 1985 – December 22, 1990
18	S. Vpnldraramanan	December 22, 1990 – December 21, 1992
19	C. Rangarajan	December 22, 1992 – November 21, 1997
20	Bimal Jalan	November 22, 1997 – September 6, 2003
21	Y.V. Reddy	September 6, 2003 – September 5, 2008
22	D. Subbarao	September 5, 2008 – September 4, 2013
23	Raghuram G. Raj an	September 4, 2013 – September 4, 2016
24	Urjit Ravindra Patel	September 4, 2016 – December 10,2018
25	Shaktikanta Das	December 12, 2018 - to Present



## **Deputy Governor of RBI List**

The Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India is the second most senior executive officer of RBI after its Governor. Since its establishment in 1934, the RBI has had 63 deputy governors. The term of office runs for three years and in some cases, be extended for another two years. The list of deputy governors of RBI is tabulated below in this List of RBI Governors of India 2023 post.

Deputy Governor of RBI List				
Name of Deputy Governor	Tenure		Term in Office	Background
James Braid Taylor	1 April 1935	30 June 1937	2 years, 90 days	Civil Servant
Sikandar Hayat Khan	1 April 1935	20 October 1935	202 days	Politician
Manilal Balabhai Nanavati	21 December 1936	21 December 1941	5 years, 0 days	Freedom fighter
C. D. Deshmukh	22 December 1941	10 October 1943	1 year, 292 days	Indian Civil Service (ICS) officer
Wajahat Hussain	16 August 1943	04 December 1945	2 years, 49 days	ICS officer
C.R. Trevor	16 August 1943	31 December 1949	6 years, 137 days	ICS officer
M.G. Mekhri	08 July 1946	07 July 1951	4 years, 364 days	ICS officer
W.T. McCallum	15 April 1946	14 July 1948	2 years, 90 days	ICS officer
N. Sundaresan	01 January 1950	31 December 1954	4 years, 364 days	ICS officer
Ram Nath	08 June 1951	08 July 1959	8 years, 30 days	ICS officer
K. G. Ambegaonkar	01 March 1955	29 February 1960	4 years, 365 days	ICS officer



Borra Venkatappaiah	01 July 1955	28 February 1962	6 years, 242 days	Career Banker
M.V. Rangachari	01 March 1960	28 February 1965	4 years, 364 days	Career Banker
Dattatreya Gopal Karve	01 March 1962	29 February 1964	1 year, 365 days	Economist
C.S. Divekar	12 November 1962	11 November 1965	2 years, 364 days	Economist
M.R. Bhide	29 February 1964	25 January 1967	2 years, 331 days	Economist
B.K. Madan	1 July 1964	31 January 1967	2 years, 214 days	Economist
B. N. Adarkar	16 June 1965	03 May 1970	4 years, 321 days	Economist
A. Bakshi	24 January 1967	08 September 1969	2 years, 227 days	Economist
J.J. Anjaria	1 February 1967	28 February 1970	3 years, 27 days	Economist
P.N. Damry	13 February 1967	15 March 1972	5 years, 31 days	Economist
Rabindra Kishen Hazari	27 November 1969	26 November 1977	7 years, 364 days	Economist
V. V. Chari	17 November 1970	30 November 1975	5 years, 13 days	Economist
S.S. Shiralkar	18 December 1970	25 July 1976	5 years, 220 days	Economist
R.K. Sheshadri	26 July 1973	25 July 1976	2 years, 365 days	Economist
K.S. Krishnaswamy	29 December 1975	31 March 1981	5 years, 92 days	Economist
P.R. Nangia	29 December 1975	15 February 1982	6 years, 48 days	Economist
J.C. Luther	04 January	01 June	148 days	Economist



	1977	1977		
M. Ramakrishnayya	04 January 1977	01 June 1977	148 days	Indian Administrative Service officer
Amitav Ghosh	21 January 1982	20 January 1992	9 years, 364 days	Career Banker
C. Rangarajan	12 February 1982	20 August 1991	9 years, 189 days	Career Banker
M.V. Hate	12 March 1982	11 March 1985	2 years, 364 days	Career Banker
R.K. Kaul	01 October 1983	30 September 1986	2 years, 364 days	Career Banker
P.D. Ojha	29 April 1985	28 April 1990	4 years, 364 days	Career Banker
P.R. Nayak	01 April 1987	31 March 1992	4 years, 365 days	Career Banker
R. Janakiraman	01 April 1987	31 March 1992	4 years, 365 days	Career Banker
S.S. Tarapore	30 January 1992	30 September 1996	4 years, 244 days	Career Banker
D. R. Mehta	11 November 1992	21 February 1995	3 years, 102 days	Economist
S.P. Talwar	07 November 1994	30 June 2001	6 years, 235 days	Economist
R.V. Gupta	02 May 1995	30 November 1997	2 years, 212 days	Economist
Y. V. Reddy	14 September 1996	31 July 2002	5 years, 320 days	Career Banker
Jagdish Capoor	01 January 1997	30 June 2001	4 years, 180 days	Career Banker
Vepa Kamesam	01 July 2001	23 December 2003	2 years, 175 days	Career Banker
G P Muniappan	01 July 2001	31 May	1 year, 334 days	Career Banker



		2003		
Rakesh Mohan	09 September 2002	10 June 2009	6 years, 274 days	Economist
K J Udeshi	10 June 2003	12 December 2005	2 years, 185 days	Career Banker
V Leeladhar	21 September 2004	08 December 2008	4 years, 78 days	Career Banker
Shyamala Gopinath	21 September 2004	08 December 2008	4 years, 78 days	Career Banker
Usha Thorat	10 November 2005	09 November 2010	4 years, 364 days	Career Banker
Kamalesh Chandra Chakrabarty	15 June 2009	25 April 2014	4 years, 314 days	Career Banker
Subir Gokarn	24 November 2009	31 December 2012	3 years, 37 days	Economist
Anand Sinha	19 January 2011	18 January 2014	2 years, 364 days	Career Banker
Harun Rashid Khan	04 July 2011	04 July 2016	5 years, 0 days	Career Banker
Urjit Patel	11 January 2013	04 September 2016	3 years, 237 days	Career Banker
R Gandhi	03 April 2014	02 April 2017	3 years, 237 days	Career Banker
Subhash Sheoratan Mundra	31 July 2014	30 July 2017	2 years, 364 days	Career Banker
Viral Acharya	23 January 2017	23 January 2019	2 years, 0 days	Career Banker
N. S. Vishwanathan	04 July 2016	31 March 2020	3 years, 271 days	Career Banker
B.P. Kanungo	03 April 2017	02 April 2021	3 years, 364 days	Career Banker



Mahesh Kumar Jain	22 June 2018	26 June 2023	5 years, 26 days	Career Banker
Michael Patra	15 January 2020	Incumbent	3 years, 184 days	Career Banker
M. Rajeshwar Rao	09 October 2020	Incumbent	2 years, 282 days	Career Banker
T. Rabi Sankar	03 May 2021	Incumbent	2 years, 76 days	Career Banker
Swaminathan Janakiraman	26 June 2023	Incumbent	22 days	Career Banker