NRA CET: list of Exams Covered Under NRA CET


Common Eligibility Test (CET) Exam will be conducted by the National Recruitment Agency to shortlist candidates for non-gazetted Group B and C posts of the government. CET will replace the first-level entrance exams conducted by various government organizations such as Staff Selection Commission, Railway Recruitment Boards, and the Institute of Banking Service Personnel. What are the exams covered in the CET? For how many exams will you be eligible after appearing for NRA CET?

NRA CET Syllabus 2020: Expected Syllabus For Common Eligibility Test

The CET exam will be conducted twice a year in up to 12 Indian languages. It will majorly benefit the candidates from rural areas deprived of facilities and who find it difficult to travel for several examinations conducted throughout the year. Check out the complete list of exams expected to covered under the CET. Aspirants looking forward to appearing for the government job examinations next year will have to appear for a single examination if eyeing on Group B and C posts.

List of Exams Covered Under NRA CET

Common Eligibility test will cover all the posts under Group B and C non-technical category where the preliminary examination is conducted to shortlist or screen the candidates for the next stage. Check out the overview of exams to be covered under CET:

NRA CET ExamsImportant NRA CET Exam Links
NRA CET Banking IBPS POIBPS ClerkIBPS RRB PO & ClerkSBI ClerkOther banking exams

CET by NRA to be conducted in 3 Levels

Common eligibility test will be conducted separately for graduate, 12th pass and 10th pass students based on the educational qualifications and difficulty level. Separate posts will be covered in all three levels based on the eligibility criteria. The selection process through NRA CET will include:

Stage 1

Common Eligibility Test will act as an initial screening test to shortlist aspirants for the next stage. Candidates don’t have to appear for multiple preliminary exams for multiple posts. Common Eligibility Test will reduce the burden on the students and will also save money. The CET score will be valid for 3 years. Candidates can apply for the next level examination of different posts based on their score. The CET will be conducted twice a year.

Stage 2

Once the screening process is successfully conducted by NRA, then the selected candidates will appear for the next level of examination based on the post they will apply. The second round or Mains examination will be conducted by the respective agencies namely SSC, Railway, and IBPS. In order to get finally selected for the post, one has to clear the mains exam of the specific post.

Staff Selection Commission: SSC Exams to be covered under NRA CET

Staff Selection Commission conducts several examinations every year to recruit aspirants to various level of posts. With CET to be introduced next year, all the Tier 1 exams conducted by SSC will be scraped and instead only CET score will be valid to appear for the Tier 2 exam. Check out the list of SSC exams to be covered under CET:

Levels of CET ExamSSC Tier 1 Exams To Be Replaced
GraduateSSC CGL Tier 1 ExamSSC CPO Sub-Inspector Paper 1 ExamSSC Selection Post Exam
Higher Secondary (12th Pass)SSC CHSL ExamSSC Constable (Executive) Delhi PoliceSSC Stenographer Grade C ExamSSC Selection Post Exam
Matriculation (10th Pass)SSC MTS ExamSSC GD Constable ExamSSC Selection Post Exam

Railway Recruitment Board: RRB Exams to be covered under NRA CET

NRA CET will be responsible for recruiting the non-technical popular categories of the Railways as well. It will include several Group B, C, and D posts of the Indian railways especially RRB Group D and RRB NTPC. The NTPC posts will include Junior Clerk cum Typist, Commercial cum Ticket Clerk,  Goods Guard, Senior Commercial cum Ticket Clerk, Traffic Assistant, Accounts Clerk cum Typist, Junior Time Keeper, Trains Clerk, Junior Account Assistant cum Typist, Commercial Apprentice, Senior Time Keeper, Senior Clerk cum Typist, and Station Master in various Zonal Railways and Production Units of Indian Railways. The CET will act as a preliminary exam in the railways as well for all posts. Candidates will have to appear for a separate stage 2 exam to be conducted by the RRB to get the desired post in the concerned department.

Banking Exams covered under NRA CET

As of now, the majority of banking exams comprise of preliminary exam followed by the mains exams and interviews. Minimum 10-15 banking recruitments are released every year whether by IBPS, SBI or any other agency. It becomes a tedious task for aspirants to pay the online fee every time and appear for multiple exams. Banking exams namely IBPS Clerk, IBPS RRB, IBPS PO etc will now hold a single preliminary exam included in CET. The marks scored in CET will act as the preliminary score and based on that data, candidates will be selected for the mains exam by multiple agencies.

Download Best Free E-Books & Free Practice Sets

India’s Most Affordable Premium Practice Set


Click Here To Visit The Store


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here