List of Karnataka Chief Ministers 1947 to 2023 Latest Updates


Karnataka Chief Minister list

Karnataka state was formerly known as Mysore State. Mysore State attained statehood in 1956 under the States Reorganisation Act and was later renamed Karnataka in 1973. The First Karnataka Chief Minister was K. Chengalaraya Reddy after Independence and he served as the Karnataka Chief Minister from 25 October 1947 to 30 March 1952. The current Karnataka Chief Minister is Basavaraj Bommai from 28 July 2021. Now that the State Elections are being conducted and the result is scheduled to be released on 13 May 2023, Karnataka might get a New Karnataka Chief Minister.

Chengalaraya Reddy was the first chief minister of Karnataka and served from 25th October 1947 to 30th March 1952. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Karnataka starting from 1947 to 2023.

Basavaraj Bommai took the oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the 15th Assembly (2019-24) on July 27, 2021, while R. Ashoka, Govind Karjol, V. Somanna were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers of Karnataka.

List of chief ministers of Karnataka 1947 to 2023

Check below the list of all CM of Karnataka for the period 1947-2023:

SL. NoName of CMPeriodParty
1.Sri K. Chengalaraya Reddy25 October 1947 to 30 March 1952Indian National Congress
2.K. Hanumanthaiah30 March 1952 to 19 August 1956Indian National Congress
3.Kadidal Manjappa19 August 1956 to 31 October 1956Indian National Congress
4.C. M. Poonacha27 March 1952 to 31 October 1956Indian National Congress
5.S. Nijalingappa1 November 1956 to 16 May 1958Indian National Congress
6.B. D. Jatti16 May 1958 to 9 March 1962Indian National Congress
7.S. R. Kanthi14 March 1962 to 20 June 1962Indian National Congress
8.S. Nijalingappa21 June 1962 to 28 May 1968Indian National Congress
9.Veerendra Patil29 May 1968 to 18 March 1971Indian National Congress (O)
10.D. Devaraj Urs20 March 1972 to 31 December 1977 28 February 1978 to 7 January 1980Indian National Congress
11.R. Gundu Rao12 January 1980 to 6 January 1983Indian National Congress
12.Ramakrishna Hegde10 January 1983 to 29 December 1984 8 March 1985 to 13 February 198616 February 1986 to 10 August 1988Janata Party
13.S. R. Bommai13 August 1988 to 21 April 1989Janata Party
14.Veerendra Patil30 November 1989 to 10 October 1990Indian National Congress
15.S. Bangarappa17 October 1990 to 19 November 1992Indian National Congress
16.M. Veerappa Moily19 November 1992 to 11 December 1994Indian National Congress
17.H. D. Deve Gowda11 December 1994 to 31 May 1996Janata Dal
18.J. H. Patel31 May 1996 to 7 October 1999Janata Dal
19.S. M. Krishna11 October 1999 to 28 May 2004Indian National Congress
20.Dharam Singh28 May 2004 to 2 February 2006Indian National Congress
21.H. D. Kumaraswamy3 February 2006 to 8 October 2007Janata Dal (Secular)
22.B. S. Yediyurappa12 November 2007 to 19 November 2007 30 May 2008 to 4 August 2011Bharatiya Janata Party
23.D. V. Sadananda Gowda5 August 2011 to 11 July 2012Bharatiya Janata Party
24.Jagadish Shettar12 July 2012 to 12 May 2013Bharatiya Janata Party
25.Siddaramaiah13 May 2013 to 15 May 2018Indian National Congress
26.B. S. Yediyurappa17 May 2018 to 23 May 2018Bharatiya Janata Party
27.H. D. Kumaraswamy23 May 2018 to 23 July 2019Janata Dal (Secular)
28.B. S. Yediyurappa26 July 2019 to 28 July 2021Bharatiya Janata Party
29Basavaraj Bommai28 July 2021 to 15 May 2023Bharatiya Janata Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Karnataka with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Karnataka

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Karnataka?

Answer: Sri K. Chengalaraya Reddy

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Karnataka?

Answer: Basavaraj Bommai

Question 3: How many members are in Karnataka Legislative Council?

Answer: 75 out of which 64 are elected and 11 are nominated

Question 4: Who is the chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council?

Answer: Raghunath Rao Malkapure is the chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council

Question 5: How many members are there in Karnataka Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 224

Question 6: Who is the speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri, BJP

Question 7: Who is the Governor of Karnataka?

Answer: Thawar Chand Gehlot

Current Cabinet Ministers of Karnataka 2023

Shri Basavaraj BommaiChief Minister,Finance.Department Personnel and Administrative Reforms.Cabinet Affairs.Bengaluru Development.Intelligence (from Home)All other unallocated portfolios.
Govind M. KarjolaMajor and Medium Irrigation
R. Ashoka Revenue (excluding Muzrai)
B. SriramuluTransportSchedule Tribes Welfare
V. SomannaHousingInfrastructure development
Umesh KattiForestFood, Civil Supplies and Consumer affairs
Angara S. Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport
J.C. Madhu Swamy Law, Parliamentary affairs and LegislationMinor Irrigation
Araga JnanendraHome Affairs. (excluding Intelligence Wing)
C.N. Ashwath NarayanHigher education.
IT & BT.
Science & Technology.
Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
C.C. PatilPublic Works Department
Anand SinghTourism
Ecology and Environment
Kota Srinivas PoojarySocial Welfare
Backward Classes Welfare
Prabhu ChauhanAnimal Husbandry
Murugesh NiraniLarge and Medium Scale Industries. (Excluding Sugar, Public Enterprises)
Arbail Shivaram HebberLabour
S.T. SomashekharCo-operation
B.C. PatilAgriculture
Byrati BasavarajUrban Development (including KUWSDB & KUIDFC, excluding Bengaluru development, BBMP, BDA, BWSSB, BMRDA, BMRCI and Directorate of Town Planning, Urban development department)
K. SudhakarHealth and Family Welfare
Medical Education
K. GopalaiahExcise (from Finance)
Shashikala JolleMuzrai
Haj and Wakf
M.T.B. NagarajSmall Scale Industries, Public Sector Industries
Municipal Administration
K.C. Narayana GowdaYouth Empowerment and Sports
B.C. NageshPrimary and Secondary Education
V. Sunil KumarEnergy
Kannada and Culture
Halappa AcharMines and Geology (from Commerce & Industries)
Women, Child development and Disabled & Senior citizens empowerment
Shankar B PatilHandloom and Textiles (from Commerce & Industries)
Sugarcane Development And Directorate of Sugar
Planning, Program monitoring and Statistics

Karnataka Chief Ministers 2023: FAQs

Q.Who was the first Karnataka Chief Minister after independence?

Ans: K. Chengalaraya Reddy served as Karnataka Chief Minister from 25 October 1947 to 30 March 1952

Q. Who was the first Karnataka Chief Minister after Karnataka Attained started and was renamed?

Ans:D. Devaraj Urs served as Karnataka Chief Minister from 20 March 1972 to 31 December 1977 and played a significant role in renaming the state from Mysore to Karnataka.

Q. Which Karnataka Chief Minister became Prime Minister of India?

Ans: H. D. Deve Gowda is the only Karnataka Chief Minister who became Prime Minister of India. He serves from 11 December 1994 to 31 May 1996 as Karnataka Chief Minister.

500 Competitive Exams Covered 45000 Test Series Daily Free Quizzes Current Affairs Previous Year P


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here