List of Cabinet Ministers of India 2023 Cabinet Minister Names and Portfolio


Cabinet Ministers of India 2023

The List of Cabinet Ministers and Ministers of State in the Government of India is important for individuals preparing for government exams. This comprehensive list provides valuable information about the current representatives serving as Cabinet Ministers at the Union level, along with their respective portfolios.

For exam aspirants, this list is a vital resource to become familiar with the names and roles of these ministers. It helps enhance exam preparation by providing insights into the current government structure. Being familiar with the List of Cabinet Ministers of India 2023 enables candidates to confidently answer questions related to the responsibilities and portfolios of these ministers in various competitive exams.

How Many Cabinet Ministers are there in India?

PM Modi-led BJP registered a resounding victory in the 2019 General Elections. The newly re-elected Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi took the oath of office along with his newly appointed Council of Ministers. The Constitution of India limits the total strength of the Council of Ministers to a maximum of 15% of the total number of Lok Sabha MPs. The current strength of the 17th Lok Sabha is 543 members and hence the Council of Ministers cannot be more than 81. In the latest cabinet ministers of India list, there are 29 Cabinet Ministers (including the Prime Minister), 2 Ministers of State (Independent Charge), and  47 Ministers of State.

List of Cabinet Ministers of India 2023

In a significant development on July 7, 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi implemented a reshuffle in his cabinet, marking the first such restructuring since May 2019. As a result of this reshuffle, the 2021 Council of Ministers now comprises 28 Cabinet Ministers, 45 Ministers of State, and 2 Ministers of State (Independent Charge).

Each minister holds specific responsibilities and contributes to the governance and administration of the country. This reshuffling reflects the government’s commitment to effective leadership and the allocation of portfolios based on the expertise and capabilities of the ministers.

Cabinet Ministers of India List
S. No.Cabinet Ministers of IndiaMinistry
1.Shri Narendra ModiMinistry of Personnel, Public Grievances and PensionsDepartment of Atomic EnergyDepartment of SpaceAll important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister
2.Shri Raj Nath SinghMinistry of Defence
3.Shri Amit ShahMinistry of Home AffairsMinistry of Cooperation
4.Shri Nitin Jairam GadkariMinistry of Road Transport and Highways
5.Smt. Nirmala SitharamanMinistry of FinanceMinistry of Corporate Affairs
6.Shri Narendra Singh TomarMinistry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
7.Dr. Subrahmanyam JaishankarMinistry of External Affairs
8.Shri Arjun MundaMinistry of Tribal Affairs
9.Smt. Smriti Zubin IraniMinistry of Women and Child DevelopmentMinistry of Minority Affairs
10.Shri Piyush GoyalMinistry of Commerce and IndustryMinistry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public DistributionMinistry of Textiles
11.Shri Dharmendra PradhanMinistry of EducationMinistry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
12.Shri Pralhad JoshiMinistry of Parliamentary AffairsMinistry of CoalMinistry of Mines
13.Shri Narayan Tatu RaneMinistry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
14.Shri Sarbananda SonowalMinistry of Ports, Shipping and WaterwaysMinistry of Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH)
15.Dr. Virendra KumarMinistry of Social Justice and Empowerment
16.Shri Giriraj SinghMinistry of Rural DevelopmentMinistry of Panchayati Raj
17.Shri Jyotiraditya M. ScindiaMinistry of Civil AviationMinistry of Steel
18.Shri Ashwini VaishnawMinistry of RailwaysMinistry of CommunicationsMinistry of Electronics and Information Technology
19.Shri Pashu Pati Kumar ParasMinistry of Food Processing Industries
20.Shri Gajendra Singh ShekhawatMinistry of Jal Shakti
21.Shri Kiren RijijuMinistry of Earth Sciences
22.Shri Raj Kumar SinghMinistry of PowerMinistry of New and Renewable Energy
23.Shri Hardeep Singh PuriMinistry of Petroleum and Natural GasMinistry of Housing and Urban Affairs
24.Shri Mansukh L. MandaviyaMinistry of Health and Family WelfareMinistry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
25.Shri Bhupender YadavMinistry of Environment, Forest and Climate ChangeMinistry of Labour and Employment
26.Dr. Mahendra Nath PandeyMinistry of Heavy Industries
27.Shri Parshottam RupalaMinistry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying
28.Shri G. Kishan ReddyMinistry of CultureMinistry of TourismMinistry of Development of North Eastern Region
29.Shri Anurag Singh ThakurMinistry of Information and BroadcastingMinistry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Cabinet Ministers of India: Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

The list encompasses the names of all the ministers holding the position, along with their respective portfolios. Ministers of State (Independent Charge) are entrusted with significant responsibilities and have a certain degree of autonomy in their respective ministries. They play a crucial role in the functioning of the government and contribute to policy formulation and decision-making processes.

List of Ministers of State (Independent Charge)
S. No.Ministers of State (Independent Charge)Ministry
1.Shri Rao Inderjit SinghMinister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme ImplementationMinistry of Planning
2.Dr. Jitendra SinghMinister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Science and Technology
3.Shri Arjun Ram MeghwalMinistry of Law and Justice

Current Cabinet Ministers of India: Ministers of State

Candidates can go through the complete list of minister of state 2023 from the below table:- 

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How many Ministers are there in New Modi Cabinet?

Ans. In 2022, there are 31 Cabinet Ministers, 45 Ministers of State, and 2 Ministers of State with Independent Charge in the New Cabinet of Narendra Modi.

2. What is the role of Cabinet Ministers in India?

Ans. The cabinet minister of India is the executive body and the central ministers are led by the Prime Minister of India. The Cabinet Ministers have the supreme powers in the parlance of administrative powers and responsibilities.

3. Which ministers are held by Prime Minister Narendra Modi?

Ans. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is in charge of the Ministry of Personnel, public grievances, and pensions, the Department of Space, the Department of Atomic Energy, and All-important policy issues and all other Portfolios not allocated to any ministers.

4. Who is the longest-serving head of elected governments among all the Indian Prime Ministers?

Ans. The Council of Ministers or the Cabinet Ministers are an important topic for UPSC, SSC, Bank, RRB, or other Government exams.

Q. How many questions are asked in competitive exams from the topic “Cabinet ministers of India”?

Ans. Narendra Modi is the longest-serving head of elected government among all the Indian Prime Ministers.

5. Who is the youngest cabinet minister of India?

Ans. Nisith Pramanik is the youngest cabinet minister of India. He is 35 years old and took oath as the Minister of State at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

500 Competitive Exams Covered 45000 Test Series Daily Free Quizzes Current Affairs Previous Year P


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here