List of Chief Ministers of Bihar From 1946-2024 Most Updated


List of Chief Ministers of Bihar

The Chief Minister of Bihar wields significant authority as the primary executive in the state. Although the Governor of Bihar holds a formal position as the head of the state, it is the Chief Minister who exercises substantial control over the state’s affairs. Since 1946, Bihar has witnessed the leadership of 23 different individuals who have assumed the role of Chief Minister.

The very first Chief Minister of Bihar was Sri Krishna Sinha, who represented the Indian National Congress party. Notably, he remains the record holder for the longest tenure in office. Currently, Nitish Kumar serves as the Chief Minister, while Tejashwi Yadav holds the position of Deputy Chief Minister. Nitish Kumar has held this role since February 22, 2015, making him one of the most recent leaders to guide Bihar.

On August 10, 2020, Tejashwi Yadav was officially sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state, while Nitish Kumar assumed the position of Chief Minister for the eighth time. This alliance between Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (U) and Tejashwi Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal formed the government, marking a significant collaboration between the two leaders.

List of Chief Ministers of Bihar From 1946 to 2024

Candidates can check out the list of chief ministers of Bihar from 1946 to 2024 from the below table:-

List of Chief Ministers of Bihar From 1946 to 2024
Name of the Chief MinisterFromToName of the Party
Nitish Kumar22 Feb 2015IncumbentJD(U)
Jitan Ram Manjhi20 May 201422 Feb 2015JD(U)
Nitish Kumar24 Nov 200519 May 2014JD(U)
President’s rule7 Mar 200524 Nov 2005
Rabri Devi11 Mar 20006 Mar 2005RJD
Nitish Kumar3 Mar 200010 Mar 2000JD(U)
Rabri Devi9 Mar 19992 Mar 2000RJD
President’s rule11 Feb 19999 Mar 1999
Rabri Devi25 Jul 199711 Feb 1999RJD
Lalu Prasad Yadav4 Apr 199525 Jul 1997JD, RJD
President’s rule28 Mar 19954 Apr 1995
Lalu Prasad Yadav10 Mar 199028 Mar 1995JD
Jagannath Mishra6 Dec 198910 Mar 1990INC (I)
Satyendra Narayan Sinha11 Mar 19896 Dec 1989INC (I)
Bhagwat Jha Azad14 Feb 198810 Mar 1989INC (I)
Bindeshwari Dubey12 Mar 198513 Feb 1988INC (I)
Chandrashekhar Singh14 Aug 198312 Mar 1985INC (I)
Jagannath Mishra8 Jun 198014 Aug 1983INC (I)
President’s rule17 Feb 19808 Jun 1980
Ram Sundar Das21 Apr 197917 Feb 1980JNP
Karpoori Thakur24 Jun 197721 Apr 1979JNP
President’s rule30 Apr 197724 Jun 1977
Jagannath Mishra11 Apr 197530 Apr 1977INC
Abdul Ghafoor2 Jul 197311 Apr 1975INC
Kedar Pandey19 Mar 19722 Jul 1973INC
President’s rule9 Jan 197219 Mar 1972
Bhola Paswan Shastri2 Jun 19719 Jan 1972INC
Karpoori Thakur22 Dec 19702 Jun 1971Socialist Party
Daroga Prasad Rai16 Feb 197022 Dec 1970INC
President’s rule6 Jul 196916 Feb 1970
Bhola Paswan Shastri22 Jun 19694 Jul 1969INC (O)
Harihar Singh26 Feb 196922 Jun 1969INC
President’s rule29 Jun 196826 Feb 1969
Bhola Paswan Shastri22 Mar 196829 Jun 1968INC (O)
B. P. Mandal1 Feb 19682 Mar 1968INC
Satish Prasad Singh28 Jan 19681 Feb 1968INC
Mahamaya Prasad Sinha5 Mar 196728 Jan 1968JKD
K. B. Sahay2 Oct 19635 Mar 1967INC
Binodanand Jha18 Feb 19612 Oct 1963INC
Deep Narayan Singh1 Feb 196118 Feb 1961INC
Krishna Singh2 Apr 194631 Jan 1961INC

Chief Ministers of Bihar Facts for UPSC

  • After Lalu Prasad Yadav, the former chief minister of Bihar, was found guilty in the Fodder Scam in 1997, his wife Rabri Devi was appointed to the position.
  • Together, Rabri Devi and Lalu Prasad Yadav ruled Bihar for about 15 years.
  • To elect members of the Bihar Legislative Assembly, the 2020 Bihar Legislative Assembly Election ran from October 28, 2020, to November 7, 2020.
  • Nitish Kumar has been in office as the incumbent since 22 February 2015.
  • Nitish Kumar took the oath of office and was sworn in as chief minister for the eighth time on August 10, 2022.

First Chief Ministers of Bihar

Sri Krishna Sinha, a prominent figure in the Indian independence movement, served as the first Chief Minister of Bihar. His tenure began on August 2, 1947. Sinha played a pivotal role in shaping Bihar’s political landscape, and his leadership ushered in crucial reforms in education, agriculture, and social welfare.

Following in Sinha’s footsteps, the second Chief Minister was Anugrah Narayan Sinha, who assumed office from January 28, 1952, and continued until February 17, 1957. Anugrah Narayan Sinha was an esteemed nationalist and a key architect of modern Bihar. The legacies of both leaders remain integral to Bihar’s early development, serving as a lasting precedent for future administrations in the state.

Current Chief Ministers of Bihar

Nitish Kumar, a seasoned stalwart in the realm of Bihar politics, has exerted a profound influence on the governance of the state over numerous decades. Grounded in a pragmatic approach and a steadfast commitment to development, Kumar has established a well-earned reputation as a dedicated leader devoted to advancing Bihar’s prosperity.

Throughout his tenure, Bihar has witnessed significant advancements in education, healthcare, and infrastructure, which have collectively fortified the state’s socio-economic fabric. Notably, Kumar’s unwavering focus on promoting good governance has played a pivotal role in driving down crime rates, thereby fostering a safer environment for the people.

Kumar’s resolute dedication to social justice and the empowerment of marginalized communities has led to the formulation of policies that have yielded tangible benefits for these underprivileged groups. Nitish Kumar’s enduring leadership has etched an indelible mark on Bihar’s trajectory, offering the promise of ongoing growth and prosperity for the state.

FAQ on List of Chief Ministers of Bihar

Q. Who is the 1 Chief Minister of Bihar?

Sri Krishna Sinha is the first Chief Minister of Bihar. His tenure was from Apr 2, 1946, to 31 Jan 1961

Q. Who is the present vice Chief Minister of Bihar?

Present vice Chief Minister of Bihar Tejashwi Yadav since 10 August 2022

Q. How many terms has Nitish Kumar served as Chief Minister of Bihar?

Nitish Kumar has served as the Chief Minister of Bihar multiple times. As of my last knowledge update, he had served seven non-consecutive terms.

Q. What is the tenure of a Chief Minister in Bihar?

The tenure of a Chief Minister in Bihar, like in most Indian states, is five years. However, it can end earlier if the Legislative Assembly is dissolved or if the Chief Minister resigns or loses a vote of confidence.

 Related Links
Chief Ministers DelhiChief Ministers of Kerala
Chief Ministers of BiharChief Ministers of Karnataka
Chief Ministers of GujaratChief Ministers of West Bengal
Chief Ministers of MaharastraChief Ministers of Tamil Nadu
Chief Ministers of IndiaChief Ministers of Uttarakhand
Chief Ministers of PunjabChief Ministers of Haryana
Chief Ministers of TelanganaChief Ministers of Sikkim
Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh Chief Ministers of Goa
Chief Ministers of JharkhandChief Ministers of Meghalaya
Chief Ministers of RajasthanChief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh
Chief Ministers of Manipur Chief Ministers of Mizoram
Chief Ministers of AssamChief Ministers of Odisha
Chief Ministers of Chattisgarh Chief Ministers of  Jammu & Kashmir
Chief Ministers of NagalandChief Ministers of Tripura
Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh 
500 Competitive Exams Covered 45000 Test Series Daily Free Quizzes Current Affairs Previous Year P


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here