List of Chief Ministers of Telangana from 2014 to 2024 Updated


Chief Ministers of Telangana: Telangana state’s chief minister serves as the state’s head of government. Since the state’s creation on June 2, 2014, Telangana has only had two chief minister K. Chandrashekar Rao and Anumula Revanth Reddy. K. Chandrashekar Rao is also the founder of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi party and a former Minister of Labour and Employment of the Government of India.  Read more about the Chief Ministers of Telangana in this article. 

Chief Ministers of Telangana

Following the 2023 Legislative Assembly Election, Congress announced the next Chief Minister. Article 164 of the Indian Constitution governs the Chief Minister’s appointment by the Governor. While the Governor is the state’s official head, the Chief Minister effectively leads the state government. Telangana, formed on June 2, 2014, emerged from the Telangana Movement. The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, defined state boundaries, asset distribution, and designated Hyderabad as Telangana’s permanent capital and Andhra Pradesh’s temporary capital.

List Of Chief Ministers of Telangana from 2014-2024

As the head of the Cabinet, the Chief Minister presides over and directs its meetings, playing a crucial role in the decision-making process for significant policy matters. Currently, K. Chandrashekar Rao holds the position of Chief Minister in Telangana. 

List Of Chief Ministers of Telangana 2014-2024
S.No.List Of Chief Ministers of Telangana TenureParty
1.K. Chandrashekar Rao2 June 2014 – 12 December 2018Telangana Rashtra Samithi
2. K. Chandrashekar Rao13 December 2018 – 3 December 2023Telangana Rashtra Samithi
3.Anumula Revanth Reddy7 Deceber 2023 – IncumbentIndian National Congress

Current Cheif Minister of Telangana

Anumula Revanth Reddy, born on November 8, 1969, is the current Chief Minister of Telangana since December 7, 2023. He represents Kodangal constituency in the Telangana Legislative Assembly and belongs to the Indian National Congress (INC). Previously, he served as the MP for Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency and was appointed as the president of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee in July 2021. He led his party to victory in the 2023 Telangana Legislative Assembly election, defeating the incumbent Bharat Rashtra Samithi.

First Chief Ministers of Telangana 

Chandrashekar Rao, often referred to as KCR, is a prominent figure in Telangana’s politics. Born on February 17, 1954, he emerged as a driving force behind the movement for Telangana statehood. As the founding leader of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party, KCR played a important role in advocating for the separate state of Telangana, ultimately leading to its formation on June 2, 2014. 

KCR’s tenure as Chief Minister has seen the implementation of various policies and schemes aimed at uplifting the state’s economy and improving the standard of living for its residents. His leadership style is characterised by a strong emphasis on regional identity and pride, making him a highly influential figure in Telangana’s socio-political circle. With a profound impact on the state’s governance and a dedicated following, K. Chandrashekar Rao continues to be a key player in shaping the trajectory of Telangana’s progress and development.

Chief Ministers of Telangana Interesting Fact

  • K. Chandrashekar Rao, commonly known as KCR, is the first  Chief Minister of Telangana.
  • He assumed office on June 2, 2014, when the state of Telangana was formed.
  • KCR is the founder and leader of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party.
  • He played a important role in the Telangana movement, advocating for the creation of the separate state of Telangana.
  • KCR has been re-elected and is serving multiple terms as the Chief Minister of Telangana.
  • He has been in office for more than one term, indicating his continued popularity and political influence in the state.
  • KCR is a prominent leader of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), a regional political party dedicated to the cause of Telangana.
  • K. Chandrashekar Rao was born on February 17, 1954.
  • KCR played a crucial role in organising and leading the Telangana movement, a historic agitation that advocated for the separate statehood of Telangana.
  • As Chief Minister, KCR has implemented several initiatives aimed at the development and welfare of Telangana, including schemes for agriculture, irrigation, and rural development.
  • KCR’s leadership style and political strategies have significantly influenced the political landscape of Telangana and the broader regional politics of South India.
  • KCR is a strong advocate for the distinct regional identity of Telangana and has worked towards safeguarding the interests of the state.
  • Under KCR’s leadership, Telangana has seen the implementation of various legislative measures to address issues such as water resources, healthcare, and education.
  • KCR’s continued tenure as Chief Minister indicates his sustained popularity and support among the people of Telangana.
 Related Links
Chief Ministers DelhiChief Ministers of Kerala
Chief Ministers of BiharChief Ministers of Karnataka
Chief Ministers of GujaratChief Ministers of West Bengal
Chief Ministers of MaharastraChief Ministers of Tamil Nadu
Chief Ministers of IndiaChief Ministers of Uttarakhand
Chief Ministers of PunjabChief Ministers of Haryana
Chief Ministers of TelanganaChief Ministers of Sikkim
Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh Chief Ministers of Goa
Chief Ministers of JharkhandChief Ministers of Meghalaya
Chief Ministers of RajasthanChief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh
Chief Ministers of Manipur Chief Ministers of Mizoram
Chief Ministers of AssamChief Ministers of Odisha
Chief Ministers of Chattisgarh Chief Ministers of  Jammu & Kashmir
Chief Ministers of NagalandChief Ministers of Tripura
Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh 

Chief Ministers of Telangana FAQs

Q1. Who is the current Chief Minister of Telangana?

Ans. Anumula Revanth Reddy is the Chief Minister of Telangana

Q2. Who was the first Chief Minister of Telangana?

Ans. K. Chandrashekar Rao, commonly known as KCR, became the first Chief Minister of Telangana when the state was formed on June 2, 2014.

Q3. How many Chief Ministers has Telangana had so far?

Ans. Telangana had only two Chief Minister.

500 Competitive Exams Covered 45000 Test Series Daily Free Quizzes Current Affairs Previous Year P


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here